Photo by Lili Kovac on Unsplash

5 Revelations From Going Without Electronics for a Week

No phone, no computer. It was a revelation…

Pete Williams
6 min readJan 21, 2023

--

I usually take a week off work at the halfway point of each year. Being a project manager I find that if I don’t, I lose my edge and the rest of the year becomes an intolerable trudge. Last year I was on the brink of burnout by the time July rolled around, so we escaped to a sleepy little coastal town to get away.

For the first time ever, I didn’t want to look at a phone or computer screen. No checking emails, no keeping an eye on things, nothing. I needed to rid myself of all of it. So I did.

Here are a few realisations I had from unplugging just for a week…

1. We don’t even realise how tired we are

On the ride down I fell asleep in the car for an hour. The first night there, I slept nine…and then had an hour-long nap in the afternoon. A similar pattern occurred for the next 3 days, where I slept an hour longer than I normally would and backed it up with a nap at some point in the day.

I actually felt tired most of the time those first few days, even first thing each morning after those amazing nights of sleep. Doing a quick Google search I’m clearly not alone, as researchers have noted this is a widespread occurrence for…

--

--